Original Japanese score to Sonic CD sprints onto limited edition 3xLP set from Data Discs

Original Japanese score to Sonic CD sprints onto limited edition 3xLP set from Data Discs

Per The Vinyl Factory, Sega Games Co., Ltd. has teamed up with special-edition video game soundtrack purveyors Data Discs for three (vinyl) discs of data compiling a remastered version of the original Japanese score to Sonic CD, the 1993 video game collaboration between Sonic the Hedgehog and burgeoning compact disc technology.

…Sorry, that was a little FAST — let me throw on the skids and tell you clearly and not at all shaking with anticipation that the Japanese soundtrack to Sonic CD is getting a remastered, limited edition 3xLP vinyl set from Data Discs. Now get me a chili dog and let me calm down!

Originally released for the Sega CD/Mega-CD system, Sonic CD is one of the most celebrated games in the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise. The game’s original Japanese soundtrack by composers Naofumi Hataya and Masafumi Ogata was *blasphemously* rewritten for the game’s American release, but it appears on this set complete, remastered, and sequenced “based around the game’s various ‘Time Zones’” for the first time. The set includes three double-sided art prints with art “from the SEGA archives,” liner notes by Naofumi Hataya, and a “bespoke etching design on Side F.” Did you hear that?! Bespoke! Side F!!

Data Discs’ Sonic CD remastered vinyl score is out now and available in three different color variations: black vinyl, “Sonic blue” vinyl, and limited edition clear vinyl with speckled blue and green. Order it here, but you gotta go fast because they’re already shipping out! If you’re not yet convinced by the world’s favorite blue-spiked-shrew-cum-corporate-mascot, listen to the funk drive of the remastered “Quartz Quadrant” and “Palmtree Panic” and check out the full tracklisting below. Now we just need that Night Trap score!

Sonic CD tracklisting:

A1. Title
A2. Little Planet
A3. Palmtree Panic
A4. Collision Chaos
A5. Tidal Tempest
A6. Zone Clear
B1. Quart Quadrant
B2. Wacky Workbench
B3. Stardust Speedway
B4. Metallic Madness
B5. Special Stage

C1. Palmtree Panic “G” mix
C2. Collision Chaos “G” mix
C3. Tidal Tempest “G” mix
C4. Quartz Quadrant “G” mix
C5. Wacky Workbench “G” mix
C6. Stardust Speedway “G” Mix
C7. Metallic Madness “G” mix
C8. Boss!!

D1. Palmtree Panic “P” mix
D2. Collision Chaos “P” mix
D3. Tidal Tempest “P” mix
D4. Quartz Quadrant “P” mix
D5. Wacky Workbench “P” mix
D6. Stardust Speedway “P” mix
D7. Metallic Madness “P” mix
D8. Speed Up!!

E1. Palmtree Panic “B” mix
E2. Collision Chaos “B” mix
E3. Tidal Tempest “B” mix
E4. Quartz Quadrant “B” mix
E5. Wacky Workbench “B” mix
E6. Stardust Speedway “B” mix
E7. Metallic Madness “B” mix
E8. Invincible!!
E9. Final Fever
E10. Game Over

Most Read