Polish cellist Resina announces sophomore album Traces on 130701; shares “Resin” and “Procession”

Polish cellist Resina announces sophomore album Traces on 130701; shares "Resin" and "Procession"
Phtoto: Kamila Chomicz

Set aside your preconceived notions of “classical” music and all talk of its powdered wig wearin’, opera glasses sportin’, etiquette lovin’, high-brow listeners — cuz when it comes to the avant or genre-twisting side of classical-influenced music or post-classical music these days, there is a TON to love.

130701, the neo-classical label run by FatCat Records, has been at this for years now (since 13 July 2001; hence, “130701”) and has built up a roster full of extraordinary composers like Max Richter, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Hauschka, and Ian William Craig. And now, the label is set to release the second album by the marvelous Polish cellist Resina, entitled Traces, on the auspicious date of 060718 — f.k.a. July 6.

Weaving more decadent layers than a royal wedding cake, Resina (a.k.a. Karolina Rec) continues to grow as a writer and musician with each release. Listen and look below to the ineffably beautiful tracks “Resin” and “Procession,” which are so cello-stabby and urgent that you might need to steady yourself during listening. Traces is available on vinyl, CD, and digital formats and can be pre-ordered here and here).

Rec recently played her home base of Warsaw with Arcade Fire’s Sarah Neufeld, but she will be playing the Unsound Krakow 2018 festival in October and will be announcing more fall tour dates soon (there is also rumor of a remix EP on the way). As they say in the old school classical circles: she’ll be Bach.

Traces tracks:

01. In
02. Procession
03. Resin
04. Surface
05. Glimmer
06. In In
07. Trigger
08. Leftover
09. Lethe

Resina in the live arena:

10.07-14.18 - Krakow, Poland - Unsound Krakow 2018

Most Read