Prurient preps MASSIVE new album Rainbow Mirror on 4xCD and 7xLP

Prurient preps MASSIVE new album Rainbow Mirror on 4xCD and 7xLP
Future release planned on 12xVHS and 38xGameboy Cartridge? (Photo: Sven Marquardt)

Today, loyal TMT heads, allow me to satisfy your Prurient interest with the thrilling news that Dominick Fernow (known coincidentally as Prurient) has a new album of titanic (but not quite James Cameron’s Titanic) proportions, sporting the tantalizingly evocative title of Rainbow Mirror.

The project, which exceeds three hours in length (making it perfect for my daily commute to TMT Headquarters at the bottom of the Atlantic), will come in the very petite 4xCD and 7xLP formats. It’s also being described as “an epic of pure ‘Doom Electronics’” full of “material that delves into the glacial, meditative, and ambient side” of Prurient’s psyche, which is great, because I’ve always felt as a fan I’ve never gotten a close enough look at that part of him.

Additionally, in conjunction with the 20th anniversary of Prurient, Fernow is also releasing Buddha Strangled In Vines, a limited cassette featuring three archival recordings, available at the Hospital Productions Anniversary Show and through direct mail order starting October 31.

That said, if you’re all about the NEW, you can check out the debut track from Rainbow Mirror, the poetically titled “Naturecum,” below. That whopper of an album (but not quite Burger King Whopper) drops December 1, with CD and digital versions through Profound Lore and vinyl through Hospital Productions; while you can’t pre-order it quite yet, you can always ask Santa for it for Christmas. (Those elves may not make a livable wage, but they do have a dope vinyl pressing plant.)

Rainbow Mirror tracklisting:

Disc One:
01. Barefoot God
02. Walking On Dehydrated Coral
03. Midnight Kabar
04. Chaos – Sex

Disc Two:
01. Falling In the Water
02. Okinawan Burial Vaults
03. April Fool’s Day Aspect Sinister
04. Cruel Worlds

Disc Three:
01. Naturecum
02. Blue Kimono Over Corpse
03. Path Is Short
04. Buddha Strangled In Vines (Part One)
05. Buddah Strangled In Vines (Part Two)

Disc Four [bonus shaped CD]:
01. Lazarus Flamethrower Sleepwalk [bonus track]
02. Buddhist State [bonus track]

Buddha Strangled In Vines tracklisting:

01. Rainbow Mirror
02. Buddha Strangled In Vines (1997)
03. What Will Be Our Ruin?

Most Read