Psychic Ills use reverb on their voices to announce new LP and song feat. Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval

Psychic Ills use reverb on their voices to announce new LP and song feat. Mazzy Star's Hope Sandoval
Photo: Kenny Jossick

Hey, man. Remember REAL PEOPLE? Strumming and stroking REAL INSTRUMENTS? I kinda do. Barely, anyway. But whenever I AM able to imagine that pretty far-out scenario, two of the people who I think of first definitely comprise NY psych-rock duo Psychic Ills.

Which is weird. Because it totally just so happens that today is a great day to be thinking about that band, seeing as how they just announced a new album this very morning! (It’s probably just a coincidence? Although I’m pretty sure I have lots of superpowers I haven’t discovered yet, so maybe this is just one of them manifesting itself.)

But enough about me (FOR NOW): The new Ills album is called, in classic psych fashion, Inner Journey Out. And apparently, its epic journey from inside to outside will officially be complete on June 3, when it tumbles headlong into the world via the Sacred Bones label. Yeah: like, whoa.

And even though I know that’s probably totally all the hard psych-rock news you can even handle for one day and you’re already high-as-shit right now as it stands, I just can’t resist pumping you up even more by sharing the first track from the new album, “I Don’t Mind,” which features none other than Mazzy Star’s illimitable Hope Sandoval on auxiliary percussion. HA. No. Just kidding, don’t worry: she’s totally singing. It sounds glorious. Just wanted to see if you were paying attention.

Anyway, you can check out the single below via the band’s Soundcloud. And then, to help you come down after, you can also look at the much less immediately-stimulating yet still-relevant tracklisting and European tour dates. Who’s got your back?

Inner Journey Out tracklisting:

01. Back to You
02. Another Change
03. I Don’t Mind [ft. Hope Sandoval]
04. Mixed Up Mind
05. All Alone
06. New Mantra
07. Coca-Cola Blues
08. Baby
09. Music in My Head
10. No Worry
11. Hazel Green
12. Confusion (I’m Alright)
13. Ra Wah Wah
14. Fade Me Out

Psychic Ills dates:

06.14.16 - Manchester, England - Ruby Lounge
06.15-16.16 - London, England- Lexington
06.17.16 - Brussels, Belgium - Beursschouwburg
06.18.16 - Paris, France - International Psych Festival
06.19.16 - Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands - Best Kept Secret Festival
06.21.16 - Zurich, Switzerland - Club Zukunft
06.22.16 - Tel Aviv, Israel - Bascula
06.23.16 - Milan, Italy - Sacrestia
06.24.16 - Pescara, Italy - IndieRocket Festival
06.25.16 - Ravenna, Italy - Hana Bi

Most Read