RVNG Intl. announces Peter Ivers rarities compilation, Becoming Peter Ivers

RVNG Intl. announces Peter Ivers rarities compilation, Becoming Peter Ivers
Photo: Moshe Brakha

RVNG Intl. has announced a new compilation of music from a legendary creative spirit: eccentric musician, songwriter, and experimental TV personality Peter Ivers. Containing never-before-heard demos, session outtakes, and rehearsal space recordings from the second half of the 1970s, Becoming Peter Ivers will be out on November 8, 2019.

Born in Illinois, Peter Ivers was a renowned blues harmonica player who went on to record then-commercially-flopping, now-cherished avant-pop records for Warner Bros., score David Lynch’s Eraserhead, write successful songs for Diana Ross and The Pointer Sisters, and finally, host the cult Reagan-era public access TV show New Wave Theatre. His restless visionary energy was tragically put to rest in 1983 by an unknown attacker. Subject of a book called In Heaven Everything Is Fine, Ivers’ murder remains unsolved.

Along with the announcement, the label has shared Ivers’ original version of “In Heaven,” a song he wrote for Laurel Near to sing in Eraserhead. The whole album can be pre-ordered here; watch a “trailer” compiled from archival footage of the artist below:

Becoming Peter Ivers tracklisting:

01. Take Your Chances With Me
02. Eighteen and Dreaming
03. Love Is A Jungle
04. Conference Call at Four
05. Peter
06. Even Stephen Foster
07. I’m Sorry Alice
08. Deborah
09. Miraculous Weekend
10. Holding The Cobra
11. Audience of One
12. Alpha Centauri
13. I’ve Seen Your Face
14. My Grandmother’s Funeral
15. In Heaven
16. My Desire
17. The Night You Didn’t Come
18. Untitled
19. Love In Flight (Piano Overture)
20. Ain’t That A Kick
21. Jamaica Moon
22. Happy On The Grill
23. Window Washer (w/ Van Dyke Parks)
24. You Used To Be Stevie Wonder
25. Nirvana Cuba Waltz

Most Read