Ryuichi Sakamoto scores Black Mirror episode “Smithereens” from season 5, shares track

Ryuichi Sakamoto scores Black Mirror episode "Smithereens" from season 5, shares track
Photo: nss (zakkubalan)

Ryuichi Sakamoto, composer for films like “The Revenant” and “The Last Emperor,” has turned his attention to the “streaming arts” with a score for the upcoming Black Mirror episode “Smithereens.”

Fans of Sakamoto will hear his signature style combining organic instrumentation, foregrounding the piano, with light ambient textures. “This is My Last Day 2” is a brooding, contemplative piece that slots in perfectly with Black Mirror’s cynical technological worlds.

“Smithereens” was directed by James Hawes and stars Andrew Scott, Damson Idris, and Topher Grace. Watch all of season 5 of the dystopian sci-fi series (a mere three episodes) on Netflix starting June 5 — and grab the soundtrack just a few days later on June 7 via Milan Records.

In the meantime, listen to “This is My Last Day 2” and watch the episode trailer below to see what’s in store:

Black Mirror - Smithereens OST tracklisting:

01. Meditation
02. Plot
03. This is My Last Day
04. Hayley
05. Prey
06. Chain Smoking Addict
07. Chase
08. Reverse Surface
09. Closing In
10. Countdown
11. Retreat
12. Flashback
13. Gun is Real
14. Shot
15. Degrade
16. Car Crash
17. This is My Last Day 2
18. Memory of a Single Moment
19. Release

Most Read