Sam Prekop (The Sea and Cake) announces another synthesizer album, forgets to include the Dr. Who theme again!

Sam Prekop (The Sea and Cake) announces another synthesizer album, forgets to include the Dr. Who theme again!

It’s been pretty apparent for quite some time that Sea and Cake member Sam Prekop of is all about making the Benjamins when it comes to his musical ambitions. And ever since both gluten and salt water intolerances became en vogue, Prekop has been doing his level best to scoop up that huge market share by whatever non-Sea and Cake means necessary. For the past several years, his greed has made itself manifest in his solo records’ exploitation of the modular synthesizer.

So yeah, it’s pretty much no surprise that the dude is back again for yet another collection of bubblegum solo works for synth. Titled The Republic, the new album will be released on February 24 via Thrill Jockey. According to the flashy and totally hyperbolic press release, it was “recorded in Prekop’s home studio in Chicago during the early months of 2014.” And also, its first half “consists of songs that were originally created as a score for a video installation of the same name by David Hartt, which was shown at the David Nolan Gallery in New York” while the second half is home to “some of Prekop’s most warm and inviting synth work yet, built using ideas that worked better on their own as opposed to accompanying the installation.” Can you even believe the nerve of that guy?

Either way, it’s too late. The hype machine is already in full swing. Just yesterday, NPR premiered the track “Weather Vane”, and the whole internet’s been blowing a gasket about it ever since. Everyone who’s anyone wants to make sure that they get their pre-order of the CD/LP version from Thrill Jockey and their digital version on iTunes. Business is business! I’m just gonna hop on the bandwagon and post the video for “Weather Vane” down below. Hopefully I’ll at least get a few “likes” and “retweets” out of the deal.

The Republic tracklisting:

01. The Republic 1
02. The Republic 2
03. The Republic 3
04. The Republic 4
05. The Republic 5
06. The Republic 6
07. The Republic 7
08. The Republic 8
09. The Republic 9
10. Weather Vane
11. The Loom
12. Ghost
13. Invisible
14. A Geometric
15. Music in Pairs

• Sam Prekop:
• Thrill Jockey:

Most Read