Spiritualized announce new album, and I just lost a $20 bet because it’s NOT called The Gospel of Elvis, Drugs, and Fucking

Spiritualized announce new album, and I just lost a $20 bet because it's NOT called The Gospel of Elvis, Drugs, and Fucking

Dateline 2011: While his old Spacemen 3 chum Pete “Sonic Boom” Kember continues to satisfy his creative urge by gleefully ruining all of Noah “Panda Bear” Lennox’s music, his fellow music dabbler Jason “J Spaceman” Pierce has decided to take a break from his full-time gig (White Guy Nickname Inventor) to pursue another course; one that, you know, sometimes people who make music consider pursuing. It’s called writing songs and then subsequently putting them out in a new album. I know, odd choice for a such a brilliant nickname artist to make, right? But hey, different strokes, I guess.

Anyway, after a few of his standard delays, J Spaceman has finally announced the release of his new album, the follow-up to 2008’s Songs in A & E and the seventh Spiritualized album overall. Continuing in his compulsion to create nicknames for everything, the new album J Spaceman’s New Album has been cleverly nicknamed Sweet Heart Sweet Light. The actual date doesn’t seem to have been solidified yet, but it’s also due via Fat (“Big-bottom”) Possum Records in March (“February II”) of 2012.

After recording intermittently over the past two years in Wales, Los Angeles, and Reykjavik, Iceland (at least, I should hope it was intermittent), J headed to his own home to mix for a year. If this seems like a long time to labor over something, that’s because it is. But if you ask the man, he’ll tell you that sometimes you’ve just got to put in the hours. He’ll also probably tell you to fuck off. “When you make a record, it has to be the single most important thing in your world,” Pierce said in his press release. “This time around, I wanted to do something that encompassed all I love in rock ‘n’ roll music. It’s got everything from Brötzmann and Berry right through to Dennis and Brian Wilson. I’m obsessed with music and the way you put it together and I don’t believe there are any rules.” There you have it. Man likes his music. Stop judging him, already. Although actually, you can watch J performing two tracks from the new album live at Other Voices Festival over here and judge the shit out of them for all I care.

Sweet Heart Sweet Light tracklist:

01. Hey Jane
02. Little Girl
03. Get What You
04. Too Late
05. Heading for the Top
06. Freedom
07. I Am What I Am
08. Mary
09. Life Is a Problem
10. So Long You Pretty Things

• Spiritualized: http://www.spiritualized.com
• Fat Possum: http://www.fatpossum.com

Most Read