Spiritualized announce new album And Nothing Hurt, share two tracks

Spiritualized announce new album And Nothing Hurt, share two tracks

First of all: Ahhhh. Let’s all bask in the soooooothing, warm, and comfy vibes that come from just knowing that Jason “J. Spaceman” Pierce is still alive and kicking out there in his lonely low orbit around earth. <3

Second of all: because nothing says “summer 2018” like GOSPEL-PSYCH, little J’s Spiritualized project has officially announced a new album — the band’s first since 2012’s Sweet Heart Sweet Light. After repeatedly teasing the planet below by posting a bunch of song titles in Morse Code on Twitter last week, it was finally revealed this morning that the new album is entitled And Nothing Hurt (unfortunately no, Pierce hasn’t gotten any cleverer at naming things) and will be out September 7 via Fat Possum/Bella Union.

According to the press release, Pierce recorded the entire thing by himself in his London home, and (naturally) nearly drove himself fucking crazy trying to get everything just right:

Making this record on my own sent me more mad than anything I’ve done before. We’d been playing these big shows and I really wanted to capture that sound we were making but, without the funds to do, I had to find a way to work within the constraints of what money I had. So I bought a laptop and made it all in a little room in my house…

But I was new to it all, I didn’t have all the short cuts people use when they’re making records — I just sat there for weeks… for months… moving every level up bit by bit just to try to get the sounds right…

Luckily though, we eathlings just have to click a few buttons while sitting on our asses to sample the fruits of the poor guy’s prodigious labors. Listen to the first two songs from the record — “I’m Your Man” and “A Perfect Miracle” — down below via Spotify, check out the video clip for I’m Your Man,” head here to pre-order, and check out the full album tracklist and live dates down below…all at your own leisurely convenience. (Thanks, J! We totally owe you one.)

Everything was beautiful…And Nothing Hurt:

01. A Perfect Miracle
02. I’m Your Man
03. Here It Comes (The Road) Let’s Go
04. Let’s Dance
05. On the Sunshine
06. Damaged
07. The Morning After
08. The Prize
09. Sail on Through

Scheduled 2018 Spiritualized shuttle landings:

10.11.18 - Brooklyn, NY - Kings Theatre
10.16.18 - Los Angeles, CA - The Orpheum Theatre

Most Read