Tashi Wada with Yoshi Wada and Friends to release Nue as part of RVNG Intl.’s FRKWYS series

Tashi Wada with Yoshi Wada and Friends to release Nue as part of RVNG Intl.'s FRKWYS series

It’s become a biannual tradition. Or biennial? Would you believe multiannual? Randoannual? Whatever. RVNG Intl. doesn’t believe in timelines for its exceptional FRKWYS series of records. Whether issued in clumps (like the 4 released in 2010) or the more recent sometimes-once-a-year schedule we’ve grown accustomed to, it is always exciting when the label announces its latest “intergenerational collaboration.”

The 14th volume of FRKWYS — and the first since September 2016’s inspiring Sunergy set by Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Suzanne Ciani — is a tone lovers delight, pairing starry-eyed drone composer Tashi Wada in a rare studio recording with his father, the legendary sound installation artist and early member of Fluxus, Yoshi Wada.

Nue is out September 28 through RVNG, and taking part in the proceedings are some notable “Friends,” including Julia Holter, Cole MGN, Corey Fogel, Simone Forti, Jessika Kenney, and Laura Steenberge. As Wada Jr. states, the goal of the record was “to create something both old and new sounding — ancient and futuristic — and ultimately something of its own world and other,” which pretty much sums up the overarching vision of the whole FRKWYS series quite well.

You can pre-order the CD and LP here and DL here and watch the spect-ocular Jana Papenbroock-created video for the minimal, mellow “Fanfare” below.

Nue tracklisting:

01. Aubade
02. Ground
03. Litany
04. Ondine
05. Niagara
06. Double Body
07. Bottom of The Sky
08. Mutable Signs
09. Fanfare
10. Moments of Exile (Coda)

Most Read