The Rentals announce Lost in Alphaville, out on August 26 via Polyvinyl

The Rentals announce Lost in Alphaville, out on August 26 via Polyvinyl

While Weezer was busy playing Frisbee and disappointing older fans, Weezer alum Matt Sharp was working hard at making the first Rentals record in 15 years, taking full advantage of the recent trendy wave of 90s comebacks.

The album, entitled Lost in Alphaville is due out August 26 via Polyvinyl on CD, LP, cassette, and digital download. It features a new band line-up with Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig (Lucius), Ryen Slegr (Ozma), Lauren Chipman (The Section Quartet), and Patrick Carney (Black Keys). “What an indie rock wet dream,” thinks dad to himself in traffic on the way to work. Listen to first single “Thought of Sound” now:

The Rentals will then return to live action next month, performing at the Nano-Mugen Festival in Yokohama, Japan, July 12-13. Additional dates are in the works.

Lost in Alphaville tracklisting:

01. It’s Time to Come Home
02. Traces of Our Tears
03. Stardust
04. 1000 Seasons
05. Damaris
06. Irrational Things
07. Thought of Sound
08. Song of Remembering
09. Seven Years
10. The Future

• The Rentals:
• Polyvinyl:

Most Read