Thom Yorke announces new solo album Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes, to be distributed through BitTorrent

Thom Yorke announces new solo album Tomorrow's Modern Boxes, to be distributed through BitTorrent

Just got a personal email from Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich, as we do from time to time (less frequently since The King of Limbs), and after inquiring about the health of everyone on the TMT staff, Mr. Yorke and Mr. Godrich informed us that a new Radiohead-Related Commerce Experiment® will soon be underway!

Check the full details and then go bug them for a release date [Update: good job gang! The album is already up for $6 download right here]:

As an experiment we are using a new version of BitTorrent to distribute a new Thom Yorke record.

The new Torrent files have a pay gate to access a bundle of files..

The files can be anything, but in this case is an ‘album’.

It’s an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around …

If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.

Enabling those people who make either music, video or any other kind of digital content to sell it themselves.

Bypassing the self elected gate-keepers.

If it works anyone can do this exactly as we have done.

The torrent mechanism does not require any server uploading or hosting costs or ‘cloud’ malarkey.

It’s a self-contained embeddable shop front…

The network not only carries the traffic, it also hosts the file. The file is in the network.

Oh yes and it’s called

Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes.

Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes tracklist:

01. A Brain in a Bottle
02. Guess Again!
03. Interference
04. The Mother Lode
05. Truth Ray
06. There Is No Ice (for My Drink)
07. Pink Section
08. Nose Grows Some

• Thom Yorke:

Most Read