Tinariwen share details on new album Elwan with a new video

Tinariwen share details on new album Elwan with a new video
Photo: Marie PLaneille

Tinariwen, everyone’s favorite Tuareg rock group, is coming back early next year with their seventh studio album, Elwan, Pitchfork reports. The record will be out February 10 through ANTI-.

According to Pitchfork, the band is bringing along some guests on this outing, including Kurt Vile, Mark Lanegan, and Matt Sweeney. ANTI-’s press refers to it as a “road record” in the vein of American road movies because of the band’s long, international journey to record the album, which took them from California’s Joshua Tree National Park to Morocco’s M’Hamid El Ghizlane. You can pre-order Elwan in various bundles here.

Tinariwen also shared a new animated video from the record, “Ténéré Tàqqàl,” which you can watch below:

Elwan tracklisting:

01. Tiwàyyen
02. Sastanàqqàm
03. Nizzagh Ijbal
04. Hayati
05. Ittus
06. Ténéré Tàqqàl
07. Imidiwàn n-àkall-in
08. Talyat
09. Assàwt
10. Arhegh ad annàgh
11. Nànnuflày
12. Intro Flute Fog Edagh
13. Fog Edaghàn

Most Read