Somebody call the fire department because the new Tricky album is on FIRE (duh, it features Mykki Blanco!)

Somebody call the fire department because the new Tricky album is on FIRE (duh, it features Mykki Blanco!)

I’m pretty sure that every time I write a story about Tricky I preface it with something like “Tricky’s baaaaaack!!!!” or “don’t call it a comeback!” or something like that. But this new album, whoa. It’s Tricky’s 11th album and is named after the man himself: Adrian Thaws. It comes out September 8 as the second release on Tricky’s False Idols imprint, and it’s just a full-on banger through and through.

Recorded in Tricky’s home studio in London, the album features guest vocalists Francesca Belmonte, Oh Land, Nneka, Mykki Blanco, Bella Gotti, Tirzah, and Blue Daisy. The tracks span the gamut from introspective “headphones on the bus” style tracks to 4 AM club tracks; some of them even get political. (Check out new track “Nicotine Love” featuring Francesca Belmonte below.) Says Tricky about collaborator Mykki Blanco: “I saw this dude in a mini-skirt and high heels and he was so aggressive on stage. Some of the crowd were like what the fuck? Imagine a big dude with a woman’s rage — that’s someone who can do some serious damage.”

Adrian Thaws will be released as a 2LP gatefold vinyl and a deluxe CD with two bonus tracks with unseen #tbt photos from young Mr. Thaws’ childhood.

Adrian Thaws tracklist:

01. Sun Down (feat. Tirzah)
02. Lonnie Listen (feat. Mykki Blanco & Francesca Belmonte)
03. Something in the Way (feat. Francesca Belmonte)
04. Keep Me in Your Shake (feat. Nneka)
05. The Unloved (Skit)
06. Nicotine Love (feat. Francesca Belmonte)
07. Gangster Chronicles (feat. Bella Gotti)
08. I Had a Dream (feat. Francesca Belmonte)
09. My Palestine Girl (feat. Blue Daisy)
10. Why Don’t You (feat. Bella Gotti)
11. Silly Games (feat. Tirzah)
12. Right Here (feat. Oh Land)
13. Silver Tongue - When You Go

• Tricky/False Idols:

Most Read