The xx announce new album I See You, providing a merciful and well-timed escape into dreampop

The xx announce new album I See You, providing a merciful and well-timed escape into dreampop

Oh what??? “SHIT’S BATSHIT CRAZY!” you say?

Yeah, I hear you. And so does the good old romantic, London-based, adult-contempo-leaning dream-pop trio The xx. After chilling on the sidelines for the past few years following 2012’s Coexist, the band is officially back to wrap you up in those sweet, soaring, widescreen melodies that (let’s face it) only Great Britain is truly capable of! :)

The new album, which is called I See You, is set for release on January 13, 2017 via Young Turks on CD, LP, and digitally, with each physical format featuring a “debossed mirri board sleeve” (Oh, and there’ll be three different vinyl versions, too, including “Standard Vinyl,” limited-edition clear “Indie Vinyl,” and 180-gram “Deluxe Box Set” vinyl with a bunch of extras, all of which you can scope-out in detail and pre-order right over here). It was recorded in a nice, long stretch from March 2014 to August 2016 and produced by Jamie Smith and Rodaidh McDonald in various cosmopolitan-sounding locales, including New York, Texas, Reykjavík, Los Angeles, and dear dirty London. And just in case any of you are worried that it might not be huge and escapist enough for you, according to its spiffy press release, its 10 tracks comprise the group’s most “outward-looking, open and expansive approach” to date.

But hell, don’t take their press release’s word for it! Check out the album’s first single, “On Hold” down below, and when you’re done, download it here. Here’s to blissful, pop music distraction and a better 2017, you guys! Cheers.

I See You tracklist:

01. Dangerous
02. Say Something Loving
03. Lips
04. A Violent Noise
05. Performance
06. Replica
07. Brave For You
08. On Hold
09. I Dare You
10. Test Me

Most Read