Zola Jesus releasing collaborative album with JG Thirlwell and his madcap string arrangements

Zola Jesus releasing collaborative album with JG Thirlwell and his madcap string arrangements

A little over a year ago, we reported on Zola Jesus’ Conatus tour, highlighting her May 2012 stop at the Guggenheim in NYC to do a one-off orchestral show with string arrangements by man-about-town JG Thirlwell. We’re now happy to report that said show was SUCH a resounding success that the two have decided to put out an album in the same vein as the concert so that the rest of us plebes can enjoy what folks experienced last May in the spiral-shaped space.

The album is to be released on Sacred Bones on August 20 and will be titled Versions, because these tracks are versions of tracks ZJ has already released in her more traditional electro-goth style. Here’s how Zola Jesus frontwoman Niki Roza Danilova puts it:

Versions is about the bone of the music; taking approximations from past records and turning them inside out. With all framework exposed, the songs are given a new medium in which to evolve and bloom into their own tiny worlds.

Sounds magical. The Mivos Quartet are on board to play the instruments, so get ‘boned’ later this summer as you explore the many intricate orifices that exposing Zola Jesus music to the classy treatment creates.

Versions tracklisting:

01. Avalanche (Slow)
02. Fall Back
03. Hikikomori
04. Run Me Out
05. Seekir
06. Sea Talk
07. Night
08. In Your Nature
09. Collapse
10. Avalanche [Bonus]

• Zola Jesus: http://zolajesus.com
• Sacred Bones: http://www.sacredbonesrecords.com

Most Read