Actress unveils new 3xLP Ghettoville, box set with remastered debut, a fest he plans on playing, and maybe nothing-else-ever!

Actress unveils new 3xLP Ghettoville, box set with remastered debut, a fest he plans on playing, and maybe nothing-else-ever!

Oh yeah, baby; it’s happenin’. All of it. Ghettoville, baby, Ghettoville. Talkin’ fuckin’ Actress, mo-fos. Talkin’ fuckin’ January 27 release via Werkdiscs/Ninja Tune. Talkin’ triple-disc-ass-mother-fluxin’ follow-up to 2012’s wicked R.I.P. (TMT Review) and press-release-touted “sequel” to bangin’ 2009 debut Hazyville (TMT Review). Also-talkin’ some long-awaited vinyl release of some Hazyville shit, totally-remastered and made all-available as part of this Ghettoville box set that I’m about to lay out for ya (it’s got a 32-page booklet, triple-vinyl Ghettoville, and double-vinyl Hazvyville). Yo, you digging this? I SAID YOU DIGGING THIS?

Well… good, because all hype aside, the press release seems to indicate (it’s hard to say, really; it’s even more of a cryptic mess than my first paragraph up there) that this might be Darren Cunningham’s final release under the Actress moniker.

Ghettoville is the bleached out and black tinted conclusion of the Actress image. Where the demands of writing caught the artist slumped and reclined, devoid of any soul, acutely aware of the simulated prism that required breakout. Four albums in and the notes and compositions no longer contain decipherable language. The scripts now carry tears, the world has returned to a flattened state, and out through that window, the birds look back into the cage they once inhabited. Spitting flames behind a white wall of silence, the machines have turned to stone, data reads like an obituary to its user. A fix is no longer a release, it’s a brittle curse. Zero satisfaction, no teeth, pseudo artists running rampant, but the path continues. R.I.P Music 2014.


Well, maybe you can ask him to clarify this shit yourself when you go see him play as part of this year’s Brooklyn Electronic Music Festival on November 9. Either way, let’s see: new record and vinyl debut release in January; Pre-order for the new one over here; festival appearance in like four days; maybe the end of the whole damn project. You with me? Good, because that’s about as clear as it’s gonna get.

Ghettoville tracklisting:

01. Forgiven
02. Street Corp
03. Corner
04. Rims
05. Contagious
06. Birdcage
07. Our
08. Time
09. Towers
10. Gaze
11. Skyline
12. Image
13. Don’t
14. Rap
15. Frontline
16. Rule

Actress World Tour 2013:

11.09.13 - New York, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg (Brooklyn Electronic Music Festival)

• Actress:
• Werkdiscs:
• Ninjatune:

Most Read