Animal Collective announce new album Painting With

Animal Collective announce new album Painting With
Photo Credit: Hisham Akira Bharoocha / Abby Portner

Last we heard from Animal Collective, they were streaming their new album at the Baltimore-Washington International Airport. Speculation about its release date abounded through the weekend, but we just got confirmation: Animal Collective’s new album is being released on February 19 via Domino. The album is titled Painting With and features contributions from Colin Stetson and John Cale (Velvet Underground), alongside Panda Bear, Avey Tare, and Geologist. It will come in three different covers, all of them painted by Gang Gang Dance’s Brian DeGraw.

Consistent with its title, Painting With is inspired by 20th-century experimental art, with what Avey Tare calls “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” The titular consistency is also seen and heard on the album’s opening track and first single, “FloriDada,” which I think is maybe a play on the short-lived Flori movement of Brussels in which artists dumped paint on their heads to signify the aesthetically immersive yet physically hazardous qualities of oil paints? Something like that. Check it out here.

01. FloriDada
02. Hocus Pocus
03. Vertical
04. Lying In The Grass
05. The Burglars
06. Natural Selection
07. Bagels In Kiev
08. On Delay
09. Spilling Guts
10. Summing The Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling

Most Read