Anthony Naples announces debut full-length Body Pill on Four Tet’s Text Records

Anthony Naples announces debut full-length Body Pill on Four Tet's Text Records

New York producer Anthony Naples has had an unstoppable run since 2012, when his city’s Mister Saturday Night party series bestowed upon him the honor of making his Mad Disrespect EP the inaugural release of their imprint. That EP, the young producer’s first, and its titular track established Naples as a major figure in New York’s burgeoning underground electronic scene. His stunning talent for blending that sweet, sleepy soul of New York deep house with rough, churning techno rhythms has been bolstered with each subsequent 12-inch. In the last few years, he’s racked up a handful of singles and EPs for labels such as Rubadub, Trilogy Tapes, and his own imprint Proibito, which he founded in 2013.

Now he’s set to release his debut album on Text Records, the label run by Kieran Hebden (a.k.a. Four Tet), an early proponent of Naples work. It’s called Body Pill and will be out on February 17 — vinyl through Text and digital through Proibito. Check out the single, “Refugio,” embedded below. In a press release, Naples describes the album as “a small dose of synthetic noises and rhythms,” going on to say, “I wanted to make a streetwise record that was also solid and simple, like a brick or those weird fluorescent light tubes in the subway. They give off this weird hum that you hear only when you’re alone in the station between trains late at night. I wanted to make a record that evoked that experience.” Risk of mugging (hopefully) not included.

Body Pill tracklist:

01. Ris
02. Abrazo
03. Changes
04. Way Stone
05. Refugio
06. Pales
07. Used to Be
08. Miles

• Anthony Naples:
• Text:
• Proibito:

Most Read