Bat For Lashes announces Lost Girls album, shares “Kids In The Dark”

Bat For Lashes announces Lost Girls album, shares "Kids In The Dark"
Photo: Logan White

After Natasha Khan’s melancholic The Bride, fans of the gothic-pop songstress wondered which direction she’d head next.

They shall wonder no longer: the first single from her upcoming fifth album, Lost Girls, is here. “Kids in the Dark” leans into our culture’s obsession with the 80s, complete with softly drifting pads, burbling bass textures, and at the center, Khan’s soothing vocals. Maybe we’ll be hearing her on an upcoming episode of Stranger Things?

Aside from being an ode to the decade of Khan’s youth, the album follows a character named Nikki Pink through an aural coming-of-age film. Embodying an alter ego is a technique the singer has utilized since her first album, and each time has led to contrasting atmospheres that are nevertheless rooted in her unifying vision.

Pre-order Lost Girls over at Bat For Lashes’ site ahead of the album’s September 6 release via AWAL Recordings — and listen to “Kids in the Dark” below:

Lost Girls tracklisting:

01. Kids In The Dark
02. The Hunger
03. Feel For You
04. Desert Man
05. Jasmine
06. Vampires
07. So Good
08. Safe Tonight
09. Peach Sky
10. Mountains

Most Read