Bok Bok drops Essentials Vol. 2 mix

Bok Bok drops Essentials Vol. 2 mix

Night Slugs producer extraordinaire Bok Bok, best known for his ultra-modernist beats for R&B singer Kelela, has just shared the second installment in his “Essentials” mix series. Vol. 2 is available as a free download on the series’ webpage and is also streaming on SoundCloud.

The mix premieres two fresh, characteristically spacious and percussive Bok Bok cuts, “You Know Already” and “Island Hopping,” plus an untitled collaboration with Sweyn Jupiter and grime MC Flirta D. On the whole, it is a slightly more eclectic, groovy, and vocal-heavy collection than the rather minimalist volume one; but just like that installment, it features several remarkably fresh edits of American R&B bangers, including a drum & bass revamp of Tink’s “Treat Me Like Somebody” by Chicago DJ Dannn.

Check out the full tracklist below the stream, and download the mix here.

Essentials Vol. 2 tracklist:

01. Thats What I Need (intro)
02. Tugzilla - Have You Dunker Her Yet? (COURTS 140 edit)
03. Big E-D - Q Bass
04. Bok Bok - You Know Already [Night Slugs]
05. Flirta D - Everywhere I Go
06. Girl Unit - Queen B [Night Slugs]
07. Rapid - Jump Up
08. NA - Ecstasy edit [Night Slugs]
09. Treble Clef - Ghetto Kyote (POLONIS Refix)
10. AJ Tracey ft Big Zuu & Saint - AAA
11. Viller D - Don Cannon
12. Gumzy - Bobblehead Remix
13. Bok Bok - Island Hopping
14. Bok Bok & Sweyn J ft Flirta D - Unlimited (Ice Cream) [Night Slugs]
15. Waifer - Crazy Slew
16. Spooky - My Boo ’06 Refix
17. Tink - Treat Me Like Somebody (DANNN edit)
18. Terror Danjah - Angel
19. Dreezy ft Jeremih - Body

Bok Bok dates:

05.28.16 - Rome, IT - Ex Caserma
05.29.16 - Bristol, UK - Love Saves The Day
06.09.16 - Manchester, UK - Panagea Festival
06.09.16 - Leamington Spa, UK - Assembly
06.18.16 - Berlin, DE - Fete de la Musique

Most Read