Brian Eno announces The Ship on Warp

Brian Eno announces The Ship on Warp
Photo: Shamil Tanna

In April, Brian Eno will release a new album called The Ship, his first release since 2012’s LUX. Conceived using three-dimensional recording techniques, the album is said to be “as much musical novel as traditional album.” It features two compositions: the 21-minute title track, and a three-part track called “Fickle Sun,” which ends with a Lou Reed-penned cover of The Velvet Underground’s “I’m Set Free.” According to Eno:

On a musical level, I wanted to make a record of songs that didn’t rely on the normal underpinnings of rhythmic structure and chord progressions but which allowed voices to exist in their own space and time, like events in a landscape. I wanted to place sonic events in a free, open space.

The Ship is out April 29 on Warp. Find pre-order info here, and re-listen to “The Big Ship” off seminal album Another Green World because why not.

The Ship tracklist:

01. The Ship
02. Fickle Sun
(i) Fickle Sun
(ii) The Hour Is Thin
(iii) I’m Set Free

Most Read