Brian Eno announces massive (yet unfathomably ethereal!) Music For Installations box set

Brian Eno announces massive (yet unfathomably ethereal!) Music For Installations box set

Brian Eno has made music for just about every situation imaginable. Lingering in an airport for hours? Check. Starting up your Windows 95-enabled personal computer? Uh huh. Trapped in a mirrored enclosure with a close friend, but you wish he had sleeves on? You bet. But, what about Brian Eno music for viewing a Brian Eno art installation?

That first sentence wasn’t hyperbole; and so the answer, of course, is also yes. You just wouldn’t know it, seeing as none of that music has ever actually been released in, oh, say, a six-CD/nine-LP collection with a 64-page book before! That is, until May 4, when Eno will put out Music For Installations, an expansive catalog of new, rare, and previously unreleased material, all recorded by Eno for use in installations past, present, and even future. Yes, in another display of how far ahead he is of the rest, Brian Eno has made music for art installations that don’t even exist yet.

Once again: I wasn’t being hyperbolic up above. Music For Installations will be available in six-CD, as well as nine-LP box sets, with both versions containing a 64-page booklet of rare and unseen exhibition photographs, plus an essay written by Eno himself. There will also a “super deluxe limited edition numbered box set” variant of the six-CD version, where the included book will sport a Plexiglass cover. While some of the works contained have previously received limited-edition releases on CD, Music For Installations will be the first time any of them has been released on vinyl.

So keep your eyes and ears open on May 4, when Music For Installations is released onto the world. The collection can be pre-ordered via Brian Eno’s own webstore here, and you can check out what the packaging actually looks like (as designed by Eno and Nick Robertson) and the very long tracklisting, down below.

Music For Installations

Music From Installations:
01. Kazakhstan
02. The Ritan Bells
03. Five Light Paintings
04. Flower Bells

77 Million Paintings:
01. 77 Million Paintings ( 43:57 )

Lightness - Music For The Marble Palace :
01. Atmospheric Lightness
02. Chamber Lightness

I Dormienti / Kite Stories:
01. I Dormienti
02. Kites I
03. Kites II
04. Kites III

Making Space:
01 Needle Click
02. Light Legs
03. Flora and Fauna / Gleise 581d
04. New Moons
05. Vanadium
06. All The Stars Were Out
07. Hopeful Timean Intersect
08. World Without Wind
09. Delightful Universe ( seen from above )

Music For Future Installations:
01. Unnoticed Planet
02. Liquidambar
03. Sour Evening ( Complex Heaven 3 )
04. Surbahar Sleeping Music

Most Read