Editions Mego to release live LP from Voices from the Lake; no jokes will be made about it

Editions Mego to release live LP from Voices from the Lake; no jokes will be made about it

Too bad I only recently used up the one good joke I could’ve made about this new Voices from the Lake release on a noise festival. As such, there will be no “Hey, wait a minute, lakes don’t have voices! They don’t even have mouths!” tomfoolery to be found here, and indeed no jokes at all. And don’t get try to get smart with me either, buster. “Oh Taylor, surely there are other jokes you could come up with if you’ve a mind for it.” No. I’ve checked my joke codex, and all I want to do is relay information about the return of minimal techno duo Voices from the Lake (Donato Dozzy and Neel) free from the window dressing of my sharp and vivacious wit. Deal with it.

Live at MAXXI is out on CD and digitally on June 8, a date about which no comedian has ever managed to joke. It follows their Velo di Maya EP together from last year, as well as respective solo releases on eMego imprint Spectrum Spools, viz., Dozzy’s Sintetizzatrice from earlier this year and Neel’s Phobos from last year. The tracks, which were recorded live last year in Rome, are all new and original compositions, save for closer “Max,” which was written by Paolo Conte. On “Max,” the duo is joined by Brando Lupi on guitar, a.k.a. the most joke-resistant instrument since the lute. The entirety of the release finds the duo swishing around in the dreamy, looping techno melancholy in a manner that is, you guessed it, not at all conducive to jokes. But really, all jokes aside — as they have been for the entirety of this post — you can pre-order the album here, and listen to “Max” embedded below.

Live at MAXXI tracklist:

01. Intro
02. Sonia Danza
03. Dreamscape Generation
04. Richiami e Oscillazioni
05. Orange Steps
06. Scintille
07. Max

• Voices from the Lake: http://on.fb.me/1K3964y
• Editions Mego: http://editionsmego.com

Most Read