Eric Copeland releases new LP Limbo June 5; old college roommate still doesn’t ‘get it’

Eric Copeland releases new LP Limbo June 5; old college roommate still doesn't 'get it'

Back in the day my old college roommate and I were all like, “Yeah, Animal Collective! Cool! We get that.” And, then we both kind of went our separate ways in life. Now and again we’ll share music that may have spawned from some relation to the previous connection we had over liking the same band.

Circa 2007 – Me: Dude, you should check out this Eric Copeland album, Hermaphrodite. It’s nothing like Animal Collective, but it’s on their label and they’re like bros so you’ll have to like it.

OCR: Well… I listened to it. I thought it would be rippin’, but it’s just dance-noise. I mean, I just don’t get it, man.

A lot has changed since 2007. In 2012, Animal Collective and similar sounding bands have been cast into obscurity, and my old college roommate probably has developed a denser palate when it comes to music. Eric Copeland, of Black Dice, is releasing his newest album, Limbo, on June 5 via Underwater Peoples, and how could anyone resist the hypnotizing raw rhythm found within his compositions?

Today – Me: “Dude, it’s been a long time…. since we rock n’ rolled. Ahaha… just joshin’. Anywho, you should check out the new Eric Copeland album. It’s way more accessible… uhm, not saying you’re dumb or anything. But, I think you’ll like it a lot more than his first solo album.

OCR: I just listened to the song “Louie, Louie, Louie” on Ad Hoc. I still don’t get it, man.

Some old college roommates just never change.

Limbo tracklisting:

01. Double Reverse Psychology
02. Louie, Louie, Louie
03. Muckaluk
04. Fiesta Muerta
05. Tarzan and the Dizzy Devils
06. Lemons

• Eric Copeland:
• Underwater Peoples:

Most Read