Errorsmith announces Superlative Fatigue, his first album in 13 years, on PAN (and no, not by mistake)

Errorsmith announces Superlative Fatigue, his first album in 13 years, on PAN (and no, not by mistake)
Photo: Camille Blake

Sporadic propagator of singles but active participant in Berlin’s electronic music scene, a press release reminds us that it’s been 13 years since Erik Wiegand released a full-length album as Errorsmith, and that one came in the form of an obscure live album that’s somehow still available for purchase online.

You knew a few tracks into 2004’s Near Disco Dawn that Wiegand had a special knack for creating rhythms that are deceptively complex, which is why it’s such a joy to hear that Errorsmith has announced a new album on PAN (especially since otherwise, we’d be forced to imagine/deal with the consecutive waves of music technology without Wiegand’s talented and shapely brain there to fully take advantage).

Superlative Fatigue comes out October 20, and lest you remain unconvinced of Wiegand’s musical connectedness over the last 13 years, it’s worth pointing out that his technical chops were harnessed in the creation of Razor, a softsynth plug-in under the Native Instruments brand that was released in 2011. Nearly all of the sounds on the new album were created directly by (or derived from) Wiegand’s software baby, so you can be reasonably certain that he got borderline-surgical during the creative process. The Berliner himself describes the album as “rather accessible and cheerful; at times ridiculously cheerful but still very sincere and emotional.”

This is one to anticipate and pre-order, if you’re into that sort of thing. If you’re not, get nudged by listening to the track “I’m Interesting, Cheerful & Sociable” below. You’ll feel more interested (not to mention cheerful and sociable) in no time.

Superlative Fatigue tracklisting:

01. Lightspeed
02. Who-is
03. I’m Interesting, Cheerful & Sociable
04. Centroid
05. Superlative Fatigue
06. Retired Low-level Internal Server
07. Internet of Screws
08. My Party

Most Read