Evan Caminiti (Barn Owl) vocodes announcement of new album Meridian on Thrill Jockey

Evan Caminiti (Barn Owl) vocodes announcement of new album Meridian on Thrill Jockey

I’m sure Evan Caminiti’s been aware of modular synthesizers for some time now, but only recently has his passing acquaintance (in lieu of guitar) transformed into a full-blown love-affair, bolstered as it was by a recent trip to an obscure county fair located in an unspecified city. As Caminiti dove headfirst into a stick of cotton candy, he noticed (presumably) out of the corner of his eye a wonderfully well-preserved vintage synth standing next to the Tilt-A-Whirl, eyeing him with her LFO. A spontaneous crowd interrupted their fierce visual connection, but something told the Bay Area musician that he’d find the source of his newfound infatuation, whole, in the fair’s Hall of Mirrors. She appeared at once in the surrounding reflections, let out heartfelt *bleep bleep brrrrr* and the rest is knob-turning, patch cable history!

You can certainly hear evidence of this on Barn Owl’s most recent effort V, and while Caminiti’s other solo efforts Night Dust and Dreamless Sleep are more reminiscent of a dark Mark McGuire with their guitar presence, the upcoming full-length Meridian, out June 16 on Thrill Jockey, promises to evince a formal shift. Drone’s still the name of the game, but as you can tell by the opening track below, things sound potentially even more enveloping. You wouldn’t think it were possible…

Meridian tracklisting:

01. Overtaken
02. Curtains
03. Collapse
04. Arc
05. Steam
06. Wire
07. Excelsior
08. Signal
09. Mercury

• Evan Caminiti: http://www.electrictotem.com
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

Most Read