Grandaddy return with new album “Last Place,” share video for lead single

Grandaddy return with new album "Last Place," share video for lead single

Grandaddy have officially made their long-awaited return with the announcement of Last Place, their first album in a decade. The Modesto, California group gained popularity in the late 90s and early 2000s with the synthy fuzz rock of albums like Under the Western Freeway (1997) and The Sophtware Slump (2000). But the band broke up in 2006 when frontman Jason Lytle moved to Montana to record solo albums while surrounded by nature.

Now Lytle’s back in Modesto, close to his bandmates. And with that proximity came inspiration. Lytle started writing for Grandaddy again, in a style he described as “just enough personal stuff and just enough escapism, just enough electronics and just enough acoustic elements. The full spectrum.”

Last Place was produced by Danger Mouse and will be released on March 3, 2017. Check out the video for lead single “Way We Won’t” below, followed by dates for their UK tour. US dates are forthcoming.

Last Place tracklist

01. Way We Won’t
02. Brush with the Wild
03. Evermore
04. Oh She Deleter :(
05. The Boat is in the Barn
06. Chek Injin
07. I Don’t Wanna Live Here Anymore
08. That’s What You Get for Gettin’ Outta Bed
09. This is the Part
10. Jed the 4th
11. A Lost Machine
12. Songbird Son

Grandaddy 2017 US Tour

03.26.17 - Newcastle, UK - Hoults Yard
03.27.17 - Leeds, UK - Irish Centre
03.28.17 - Manchester, UK - Albert Hall
03.29.17 - Nottingham, UK - Rock City
03.31.17 - Bristol, UK - Colston Hall
04.01.17 - Brighton, UK - Concorde 2
04.03.17 - London, UK - Roundhouse
04.05.17 - Brussel, Belgium - AB Hall?cc=press01>

Most Read