Heather Leigh returns with her first “pop” album, Throne, on Editions Mego

Heather Leigh returns with her first "pop" album, Throne, on Editions Mego
Photo: Eleni Avraam

Oh. You guys know Heather Leigh: my favorite pop star???

Well, maybe you’re more familiar with Heather Leigh: master channeler of pedal steel pain.

Over the last few years, Leigh has carved her name into the gnarled wood of avant garde music with an ardent voice and a unique, devastating approach to guitar music. Following 2015’s I Abused Animal and last year’s free noise collaboration with Peter Brötzmann, Leigh is returning with a new solo album, Throne out October 26 on Editions Mego.

From the label:

Throne is an album of cosmic echoes, abstractions and introspection, of characters and stories that make up Leigh’s first best pop record, its melodies and hooks set alight with the fiery core of her unique and distinctive pedal steel.

If this is a record for poptimists, they’re going to have to rethink that whole “optimism” thing. The first single, “Prelude to Goddess,” which you can listen to below, is Leigh at her most epic and most up-front — but also still at her most foreboding. Leigh’s fans will find endless respite, but those “good vibes only” nerds better stay away.

Check out the art and tracklisting for Throne down below and preorder the record on CD, LP, and digital from Editions Mego’s website.

"Throne" by Heather Leigh

Throne tracklisting:

01. Prelude to Goddess
02. Lena
03. Scorpio and Androzani
04. Soft Seasons
05. Gold Teeth
06. Days Without You

Most Read