Heather Leigh teams with Ideologic Organ for new album

Heather Leigh teams with Ideologic Organ for new album

If you thought that pedal steel guitar was just for salty old dudes in 10-gallon hats, then prepare to have your head thoroughly checked by the latest missive from Heather Leigh.

While Leigh has already taken pedal steel to new planets with her improvisational and collaborative work (we’re talking hookups with Jandek, Chris Corsano, Thurston Moore, and Wolf Eyes), her forthcoming solo record, titled I, Abused Animal, is set to reach further into the unknown in what is described as a “personal, idiosyncratic, and deeply psychedelic work.” The album features nothing but Leigh’s voice and pedal steel, and was recorded in a secret location in the English countryside, presumably to avoid detection from all the honky-tonk traditionalists who are no doubt livid at how un-country Leigh’s pedal steel stylings are.

I, Abused Animal is out November 27 on Ideologic Organ. You can attempt to fathom its awesomness via “Fairfield Fantasy” below.

I, Abused Animal tracklist:

01. I Abused Animal
02. Quicksand
03. All That Heaven Allows
04. Passionate Reluctance
05. The Return
06. Fairfield Fantasy

Most Read