Helm to release Olympic Mess on PAN

Helm to release Olympic Mess on PAN

Well, you can go ahead and file another album title under “Phrases I wish I had in my vocabulary last night when I discovered that my roommate’s Bernese mountain dog had relieved itself all over the kitchen floor.” London’s Helm (a.k.a. Luke Younger) has a new album planned on PAN, and it’s called Olympic Mess. I can only imagine how satisfying in my anger it would’ve been to shout, “I am dismayed to see that, in addition to shedding and barking at odd hours, your dog Carl has added ‘creating Olympic messes of poop in American kitchens’ to his resume!” but alas.

Helm does have a new album planned though; it’s a follow-up to 2014’s The Hollow Organ, though it reportedly marks something of a sonic shift from that album and others, such as 2012’s Silencer EP, both of which presented a noise-blasted take on techno. On the other hand, Olympic Mess imports references to “loop-based industrial music, dub techno, and balearic disco,” all of which combine into something less pummeling and more hypnotic.

No preview tracks just yet, but the album is out June 15.

Olympic Mess tracklist:

01. Don’t Lick The Jacket
02. I Exist In A Fog
03. Fluid Cloak
04. Outerzone 2015
05. Often Destroyed
06. Olympic Mess
07. Sky Wax (London)
08. Strawberry Chapstick
09. The Evening In Reverse
10. Sky Wax (NYC)

[Photo: Jess Gough]

• Helm: https://www.facebook.com/hhelmm
• PAN: http://p-a-n.org/

Most Read