Hodgy announces debut solo album Fireplace, shares “Barbell” single

Hodgy announces debut solo album Fireplace, shares "Barbell" single

Hodgy (f.k.a. Hodgy Beats) has always seemed like one of the most likeable OFWGKTA members, even if he rarely has anything of substance to say and his lines meander. “Barbell,” the first track released ahead of Fireplace: The NotTheOtherSide, manages to change the narrative, however slightly.

Hodgy, wearing much fresher threads than I ever have while fishing on a riverboat, still isn’t really saying anything, but he sounds more relaxed, less like he’s trying to outflow everyone else. That’s true even as he’s basically telling us that he outflows everyone else. The juxtaposition works, but the real star here is the beat, produced by Stones Throw’s Jonti, which sounds like the musical embodiment of this Magic: The Gathering card I once had in my deck (x4) called “Angelic Chorus.” That deck fucking slayed.

Fireplace: TheNotTheOtherSide (it’s not too late to drop that subtitle, dude) is out December 9 on Columbia. It features guest spots from Lil Wayne and Busta Rhymes alongside production from Unknown Mortal Orchestra (!), BadBadNotGood, UMO, Knwledge, and more.

Fireplace: TheNotTheOtherSide tracklist:

01. Nitro
02. Kundalini [ft. Salomon Faye]
03. Barbell
04. Resurrection
05. They Want
06. Final Hour [ft. Busta Rhymes]
07. Glory
08. Laguna
09. Turkuoise
10. Tape Beat [ft. Lil Wayne]
11. Dreaminofthinkin
12. The Now

Most Read