Jlin announces debut LP Dark Energy on Planet Mu, so if you like both footwork and Albert Einstein…

Jlin announces debut LP Dark Energy on Planet Mu, so if you like both footwork and Albert Einstein...

Most people aren’t the Hulk, and so most people aren’t capable of harnessing the extremes of their emotions into a humongous force capable of compressing a locomotive into steel taffy and then eating it whole. That may or may not have actually happened in the comics, but here in real life we have a separate example of putting sadness and anger to good use: the Gary-based footwork producer Jlin, who’s prepping her debut LP Dark Energy for release on March 23 via Planet Mu. And no, before you ask, she did not threaten to throw shoes at Mike Paradinas if he didn’t agree to release her album.

He’s doing so willingly! Following an appearance on a particular Mu compilation, as well as her participation in a particular crew of DJ Roc’s, Jlin’s Dark Energy reportedly gets its name from the producer’s primary creative motivation: anything but sunshine. As she elaborated in a press release: “My musical sense of expression comes from sadness, and anger. I can’t create from a happy place. It seems pointless in my opinion. I don’t make tracks as much as I feel them. Creating for me is about feeling and impact.”

So even though we might long for a potential Vulcan collabo, a contribution from Holly Herndon on the track “Expand” more than makes up for it, I’m sure. Preview tracks and pre-order the album here.

Dark Energy tracklisting:

01. Black Ballet
02. Unknown Tongues
03. Guantanamo
04. Erotic Heat
05. Black Diamond
06. Mansa Musa
07. Infrared (Bagua)
08. Ra
09. Expand
10. So High
11. Abnormal Restriction

• Planet Mu: http://www.planet.mu

Most Read