Laurel Halo announces new mini album Raw Silk Uncut Wood on Latency

Laurel Halo announces new mini album Raw Silk Uncut Wood on Latency
Photo: Silvie Weber

While it was only this time last year that Laurel Halo blew minds on at least five continents with her album Dust, the Berlin-based experimental electronic doyen has already announced another expectation-resetting release with a new, six-track “mini album” titled Raw Silk Uncut Wood, out July 13 via Latency.

We say “expectation-resetting” because you’re already thinking squelchy synths and angelic vocal lines — and you’re wrong. Raw Silk Uncut Wood is an instrumental album that forms “a meditative, cinematic listening experience” inspired by “recent film score work for Metahaven and Ursula Le Guin’s translation of the Tao Te Ching.”

Raw Silk Uncut Wood is ALSO a six-track mini-LP featuring percussionist Eli Keszler (whose name you might associate with the likes of Oren Ambarchi, Loren Conners, Jim O’Rourke, and David Grubbs) and cellist Oliver Coates (who has collaborated with Mica Levi and a little band you might have heard of called Radiohead).

Now that you’ve been properly humbled, stay tuned to Latency for ordering info, and check out the album’s first taste, the titular and delicious-sounding combination of “Raw Silk Uncut Wood,” which you can sample below now.

As some Italian reviewer is bound to say…”bellissimo!” And who are we to disagree with Roman trendsetters?

Raw Silk Uncut Wood tracklisting:

01. Raw Silk Uncut Wood
02. Mercury
03. Quietude
04. The Sick Mind
05. Supine
06. Nahbarkeit

Most Read