Lil Wayne finally drops Tha Carter V (we never doubted him for a second)

Lil Wayne finally drops Tha Carter V (we never doubted him for a second)

You know the old saying: “Lil Wayne plans; God laughs; the music press reports on it no matter what.” Well, that omnipotent bastard isn’t laughing tonight, folks, because after four long years of waiting, Weezy’s hotly-anticipated Tha Carter V is out now through Young Money/Republic/Universal. That’s right: you can actually listen to 2014’s would-be hottest album at this very moment. But… you know, keep reading the article, too.

Tha Carter V, which features guest spots from Kendrick Lamar, XXXTENTACION, Travis Scott, Nicki Minaj, Snoop, and more, follows from 2011’s Tha Carter IV, as well as at least two handfuls of mixtapes and smaller releases, including 2013’s I Am Not a Human Being II and 2015’s Tidal exclusive Free Weezy Album. Of course, in another universe, we’d have as many Tha Carter albums as Final Fantasy games by now (core titles, spin-offs, and remasters included!), but in this universe (the bad one), countless legal, personal, medical, and inexplicable delays — many related to contractual disputes with Wayne’s longtime label Cash Money Records and its own omnipotent force, Birdman — have, to this point, kept the latest (and final?) Lil Wayne record from our grubby little hands. But no longer will his smooth puns and vocal rasp be kept from our ears!

I know — I’ve held you up long enough. Just check out the tracklisting below, and grab the record on vinyl, CD, cassette, and digital formats at Lil Wayne’s webstore — or, you know, support your local neighborhood streaming service. Now who’s turn is it to go cheer up God?

Tha Carter V tracklist:

01. I Love You Dwayne
02. Don’t Cry (feat. XXXTENTACION)
03. Dedicate
04. Uproar
05. Let It Fly (feat. Travis Scott)
06. Can’t Be Broken
07. Dark Side of the Moon (feat. Nicki Minaj)
08. Mona Lisa (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
09. What About Me (feat. Sosamann)
10. Open Letter
11. Famous (feat. Reginae Carter)
12. Problems
13. Dope N****z (feat. Snoop Dogg)
14. Hittas
15. Took His Time
16. Open Safe
17. Start This S**t Off Right (feat. Ashanti & Mack Maine)
18. Demon
19. Mess
20. Dope New Gospel (feat. Nivea)
21. Perfect Strangers
22. Used 2
23. Let It All Work Out

Most Read