M. Geddes Gengras installs double album Light Pipe on Room40, uploads new track “Nave”

M. Geddes Gengras installs double album Light Pipe on Room40, uploads new track "Nave"
Photo: Gabrielle Valenti

Experimental composer M. Geddes Gengras has announced his 10th solo album, titled Light Pipe, but if you think about it, it’s also kind of his 11th album. What I mean by that inane statement is that Light Pipe is a double album, and it’s out on October 12 through Room40. (Which is to say, it’s not his 11th album, but it kind of seems like it could be.)

You know how the new trend in popular music is super-short albums? Well, this is not that. In fact, sitting at two-and-a-half hours (the same length as Mission: Impossible – Fallout, and equally as brimming with ambitious stuntwork and intense action set pieces), Light Pipe is quite arguably the exact opposite of that phenomenon. The pieces were written across a span of years in unique performance spaces, and have been organized according to interior and exterior locations, with the first disc dedicated to the former and the second to the latter. As such, the album encourages “multiple states of listening.” That said, no matter what state you’re listening in, you’ll still be forced into the simple labor of getting up and changing discs in the middle of the record. It’s what binds us together as a people!

“But faceless TMT newswriter guy,” you say to me rudely, “I’m a serious and powerful Wall Street executive and I don’t have time to invest 150 minutes into an explosion of avant-garde sonics and abstract musics unless I know for sure what it sounds like!” Well, I have two things to say to that. First: please, god, help me pay off my student loans. Second, and less importantly: you can listen to album track “Nave” below, right now! And if that’s not good enough, you can also check out the full tracklist below! And when you’ve finally decided you’re all about this Light Pipe business, you can pre-order it here! Isn’t it great how we can all help each other out like this?!

Light Pipe tracklisting:

01. Mirror
02. Subway
03. Nave
04. Chancel
05. Water Study

01. Cherise
02. Irwin
03. Pinnacle
04. Vulture
05. Cherise (Return)

Most Read