Mount Eerie announces new record of auto-tuned songs in desperate pop move

Mount Eerie announces new record of auto-tuned songs in desperate pop move

We all love Mount Eerie. This isn’t conjecture, this is fact. As per Tiny Mix Tapes’ advanced coding, any who feel less than love and adoration toward Mount Eerie are booted from the site upon entry, their browser redirecting to a website about baskets. Web 2.0 and all that. But as much as we all love Mount Eerie, Phil Elverum and his band aren’t exactly heating up the pop charts. Fairly certain the group’s highest charting single (“Through the Trees”) only made it to #98. If Elverum ever wants to be the pop star we all know he can be, drastic moves are needed.

And here’s that drastic move itself: a new LP called Pre-Human Ideas. While the songs on Pre-Human Ideas aren’t new — they’re all pulled from last year’s Clear Moon and Ocean Roar — but, buddy, the attitude sure is. Gone are those old-fashioned analog recordings, in are computer-recorded tracks with new sets of lyrics and digitally garbled synthetic vocals. Just like the kids of today love! These songs started as digitally recorded versions meant to teach Mount Eerie touring lineups the tracks, but Elverum knew these tracks were just TOO DAMN HOT. Listen to future Billboard #1 “Lone Bell” now, before you hear it blaring from every passing car:

While this plan seems foolproof to send Mount Eerie to the top of the pops, there is one little quirk. For some reason, Phil Elverum is choosing to release these HOT POP TRACKS only on vinyl, which, as you may have noticed, is not the preferred format for the average pop listener. On the other hand, the two different vinyl versions being offered both have teen idol Elverum’s face on them, so they should move some units. Yum! On that note, Mount Eerie will also be playing a handful of shows with fellow pop dreamboat Bonnie “Prince” Billy this very week. Too dreamy!

Pre-Human Ideas tracklist:

01. Organs (from Pale Lights)
02. No Inside, No Out
03. I Say “No”
04. The Hidden Stone
05. The Place Lives
06. The Place I Live
07. Lone Bell
08. House Shape
09. Clear Moon
10. Yawning Sky
11. Ocean Roar
12. Organs (from the Place Lives)

Mount Eerie dates (all w/ Bonnie “Prince” Billy):

09.04.13 - Yakima, WA - The Seasons
09.05-06.13 - Portland, OR - Aladdin Theater
09.07.13 - Seattle, WA - Neptune Theater

• Mount Eerie:

Most Read