Múm’s Örvar Smárason to release first solo album Light Is Liquid this May on Morr Music

Múm’s Örvar Smárason to release first solo album Light Is Liquid this May on Morr Music
Photo: Birgisdóttir Ingibjörg

For a country with a population the size of Honolulu, Iceland consistently cuts the mustard. In addition to impressive Euro 2016 results and its contributions to the wide world of schnapps, Iceland’s music industry continually produces acts that are beloved around the world — from Sigur Rós to Of Monsters and Men, GusGus to Emilíana Torrini, Aniima to Ásgeir, Ólafur Arnalds to Benni Hemm Hemm…and let’s not forget the up-and-coming talent named Björk who used to play in a little-known band called The Sugarcubes. (We think she might have what it takes to impress a lot of people and, with a little luck, sell a few albums along the way!)

But for all that musical mustard-cutting, one of Iceland’s tastiest exports has got to be Múm, who have held fans spellbound for twenty-odd years now. Members have come and gone, and its players haven’t been shy about branching out for collaborations and side-work when the feeling hits. For instance, in the past, founding member Örvar Smárason has lent his talents to many projects (FM Belfast, Sin Fang, Sóley, and Örvar Smárason) AND is an accomplished poet/novella/screenwriter in his own right.

But now, it’s time for Smárason to release his first solo album. Light Is Liquid contains eight dreamlike indie/electronic/ambient tracks produced by Smárason, mixed by Sin Fang, and featuring guest vocal spots by Sóley, JFDR, and Sillus, who provides her serenely sensual vocals to the lovely “Photoelectric” below.

The mighty Morr Music will release Smárason’s Light Is Liquid on CD, DL, and LP on May 18 — the day after this writer’s birthday. In other news, I just cleared out a space between Slick Rick and Smash Mouth in my collection. Just sayin’…

Light Is Liquid tracklisting:

01. Photoelectric
02. Tiny Moon
03. Flashlight
04. The Duality Paradox
05. Flesh & Dreams
06. Hailstorms & Hydrogen Bombs
07. Burning Curtains
08. Cthulhu Regio

Most Read