Mykki Blanco debuts Dogfood Music Group, announces first release

Mykki Blanco debuts Dogfood Music Group, announces first release

Mykki Blanco has her own label now. Dogfood Music Group, an offshoot of !K7, to which Blanco is signed, will feature artists who, in her own words, “come from backgrounds outside of the black American norm.” “People all over the world are only fed this singular image of ‘African American Music’,” she writes in the press release, “we want to disrupt that […] the world deserves to see our culture as much as anything else.”

True to that, the first release, a compilation album titled C-Ore, will include tracks by Rahel Ali under his hip-hop and noise-based Yves Tumor moniker, Baltimore-based electronic producerViolence, and audio-visual // IRL-digital artist Devin Kyle Cuthbertson as Psychoegyptian, along with a couple by Blanco. It’s available September 18 and pre-orderable through iTunes.

As important to DMG will be live performance. According to the press release, “The goal is to present releases that also have the potential to function as an easily transmutable ‘happening’,” and “Dogfood Music Group seeks to create site-specific installations to perform in, with purposefully nonlinear narratives that actively engage the listener and audience.” The entire collective will be touring this fall.

You know, if this were someone else, I likely wouldn’t be quoting the press release so much, but Mykki Blanco does not often leave her word by the wayside. As far as artist-run labels go, this is about as exciting as it gets.

Why don’t you watch the gorgeous video for Blanco’s 2014 single “She Gutta”? The C-Ore tracklist is below it.

C-Ore tracklist:

01. Violence - This Is Going To Be Disgusting, Unholy, And Pleasurable
02. Psychoegyptian - Lbcd
03. Mykki Blanco - Coke White, Starlight
04. Yves Tumor - Histrionic I
05. Psychoegyptian - Don’t I Look
06. Yves Tumor - Childish
07. Yves Tumor - Histrionic II
08. Violence - Saturn
09. Yves Tumor - Histrionic III / Skunk of the Earth
10. Mykki Blanco - Paw
11. Violence - Stillborn Song
12. Psychoegyptian - Lullaby (feat. Slum Savage)

• Mykki Blanco:
• !K7:

Most Read