NNA Tapes to release cyborg thrash from Greg Fox/Ryan Soper & lush house music from Nerftoss

NNA Tapes to release cyborg thrash from Greg Fox/Ryan Soper & lush house music from Nerftoss

NNA Tapes is back on the release game. The Vermont-based label is releasing two YUGE albums next month, and neither of them are by Drake.

First up is a release by the Fox/Soper duo, which consists of Greg Fox on drums and Ryan Soper on modular synth. TMT readers might know Fox from his work in Liturgy, Guardian Alien, and ZS, among others, while Soper is a NY-based musician, sculptor, and video artist who makes up one-half of Non-Native and is part of a trio called Brat Pit. The duo’s release is titled Magenta Line, which NNA calls “45 minutes of uninterrupted gritty and grinding cyborg thrash.”

The second release is by Baltimore’s Nerftoss (a.k.a. John Jones of Dope Body). On Crushed, Nerftoss takes his succulent electronic music and puts it in a club context. The whole thing plays as a continuous mix, furthering its homage to house music while also pushing into weirder territory through plunderphonic techniques and hybridized beat-making.

Both releases are out May 27 on NNA Tapes, who, by the way, are having a Spring Cleaning Sale that’ll bag you a FREE LP for every two cassettes you purchase. Sale lasts until May 1.

Fox/Soper Duo Magneta Line tracklist:

01. M
02. A
03. G
04. E
05. N
06. T
07. A²
08. L
09. I
10. N
11. E²

Nerftoss Crushed tracklist:

01. Some Kind of Way
02. Bender
03. Ladada
04. Virtue Walk
05. Tapioca
06. Decked
07. Low Highway
08. Sway
09. 22 & C
10. Ever Always
11. Star Picking

Most Read