The Orb announce new single and video feat. Hollie Cooke, album to follow in June

The Orb announce new single and video feat. Hollie Cooke, album to follow in June
Photo: Roney FM (K3 Media)

HEY. Remember that photo with Trump and the Saudi prince and the scary, glowing orb?

Jeez. The world is so crazy!

WELL, this news brief has nothing to do with that orb, and everything to do with a much more powerful and benevolent orb; in fact, this news brief regards not just any old orb, but THE ORB — a.k.a. the ambient house pioneers founded by erstwhile KLF member Jimmy Cauty with Alex Paterson at the end of the 1980s and continued to this day by Paterson and Thomas Fehlmann. Fuck yeah, The Orb is back!

In fact, this year marks The Orb’s 30th anniversary, and they are celebrating by releasing a new single, “Rush Hill Road,” featuring Hollie Cook. It comes with a video, which you can watch/listen to below.

Canny music fans know that where there’s a single, there’s often an album soon to follow. Might that be the case for The Orb?


The Orb will be releasing a new album, No Sounds Are Out of Bounds, on June 22 via Cooking Vinyl. The title represents the album’s creative philosophy, and the album features a bushel of guest appearances from the likes of Martin “Youth” Glover, Roger Eno, and Jah Wobble.

The Orb will also play a 30th anniversary performance at ORBFEST at London’s Roundhouse on June 23 (the day after No Sounds Are Out of Bounds drops). The festival will also feature GAS, Ulrich Schnauss, System Seven, and a DJ set by Leftfield. Meanwhile, pre-order No Sounds Are Out of Bounds over here, punch “play” on the vdieo clip, and bask in the ONE TRUE ORB’s warm, glowing, warming glow.

No Sounds Are Out of Bounds tracklisting:

01. The End of the End
02. Wish I Had a Pretty Dog
03. Rush Hill Road
04. Pillow Fight @ Shag Mountain
05. Isle of Horns
06. Wolfbane
07. Other Blue Worlds
08. Doughnuts Forever
09. Drift
10. Easy On the Onions
11. Ununited States
12. Soul Planet

Most Read