Prefuse 73 to “Make Glitchy Beatmaking Great Again” on new album Sacrifices, shares new single

Prefuse 73 to "Make Glitchy Beatmaking Great Again" on new album Sacrifices, shares new single
Guillermo Scott...Heron???

For better or for worse, nothing from “lofi hip hop radio - beats to relax/study to” to “CHILL RADIO” would exist without Prefuse 73 a.k.a. Guillermo Scott Herren.

In fact, it’s quite easy to track the trends of “lo-fi hip-hop” and “glitch-hop” thoroughly through Herren’s expansive catalogue — from ecstatic digital manipulation to stumbling, downtrodden analog. So the question is, what will it say about the current standing of these undercurrents when a new Prefuse 73 album drops May 25 on Lex Records???

Well, asked and answered! Because you can stream the first single, “Basinskitarian,” down below these hideous blocks of text right now! It’s a spacious, delicately-produced instrumental that relies heavily on the bass kits and reverb-laced high-hats that populate almost every 24/7 chillout YouTube video in existence. Always topical, that Prefuse 73 guy.

Sacrifices marks Herren’s return after 2015’s Rivington Não Rio and 2016’s collaboration with Michael Christmas as Fudge. Clocking in at 17 tracks (for you Prefuse-newbies out there, that’s a SHORT record for this guy), Sacrifices promises more trailblazing beatmaking from the well-seasoned guru.

Unfortunately, you can’t get YouTube livestreams on vinyl. But if you pre-order the Sacrifices record now, you can get pretty damn close.

Sacrifices tracklisting:

01. New Salad Intro
02. Late To The Party
03. Her Desire Is to Be Left Alone
04. Transmission Nines
05. Without Anyone
06. The New Year
07. Gravure
08. Washington Heights Lovers
09. Basinskitarian
10. Silver & Gold
11. The World Is Bigger
12. In The Blood
13. Transmission of Eights
14. Azares
15. Dripping With Excuses
16. False Charges
17. We Lost Our Beat Tapes In Mecca

Most Read