Scott Walker and sunn O))) get Soused this September

Scott Walker and sunn O))) get Soused this September

We’ve barely had time to process the announcement of a collaboration between mythological creature Scott Walker and gods of doom metal sunn O))), but now there are MORE mind-blowing details about this joint venture.

Scott O))) will be releasing a five-track, 50-minute album on 4AD called Soused a.k.a. what the guys from sunn O))) are every time they play live (seriously, have you seen them take swings of wine through those thick, manufactured clouds of fog they always use during their shows? Dudes go hard).

The album was recorded earlier this year and was produced by Walker himself, along with Peter Walsh (who has worked with Peter Gabriel and Stevie Wonder, in addition to working with Walker on the 1984 album Climate of Hunter, among other things) and Mark Warman. sunn O))) apparently approached Walker when they were making 2009’s Monoliths and Dimensions, but Walker declined, retreated, and re-emerged in late 2013 with music he’d composed with a sunn O))) collab in mind.

The double LP will be released on red vinyl and is slated for a September 22 release in Europe, followed by a North American release one day later. Mark your calendars — that’s 67 days away.

Soused tracklist:

01. Brando
02. Herod 2014
03. Bull
04. Fetish
05. Lullaby

• sunn O))):
• 4AD:

[Photo: Phil Laslett]

Most Read