Sculpture announce their direct appeal to lipids and proteins with new LP Membrane Pop on Software

Sculpture announce their direct appeal to lipids and proteins with new LP Membrane Pop on Software

Here I am on this Thursday morn’ with the uniquely magnificent task of obliterating conventional wisdom and shoving a metaphorical boot down the throats of snooty art experts: Michelangelo’s David is an overrated pile, and lest you think that the illusory trend started with golden rabbits or something of more recent advent, it too may possibly be filled with chocolate! The unwillingness of anyone to actually check for fear of ruining the sculpture’s supposed artistic integrity is understandable, but even if a patron bravely (stupidly) harnessed the wherewithal, security at the Galleria dell’Accademia would for sure be all up on that person’s being in a matter of moments, with intent to injure. Plus, there’s a giant block below the guy that doesn’t look easily climbable.

“I don’t think experimental music has to be dark, difficult or joyless. I try to make something playful, and maybe a little absurd.” That’s Dan Hayhurst, one-half of novel abstract audio/visual duo Sculpture, recommending that we peel back their music’s wrapping and dive tongue-first into its succulent and juicy innards. No barriers. No red velvet rope. And on May 13, he and Kiwi animator Reuben Sutherland’s “adventurous electronic pop” project will see its curtain fully removed, courtesy of their debut release on Software, Membrane Pop.

Take the word “pop” without its negative connotations or your preconceived notions. There’s little that’s traditionally pop about this album except for a vague and unpredictable lightheartedness. Elsewhere and overall, a combination of sampling, tape manipulation, and “aleatoric and algorithmic” programming coalesce to form an easy but simultaneously intricate listen. A pretty enjoyable one, too. See the vid for the brand new single below, and go here for something earlier, but equally trippy. Note the visual aspect!

Membrane Pop tracklisting:

01. Materialising
02. Multi-Faith Capsule
03. Symbolic Molecule
04. Unhitch Your Program
05. Polymorphic Operator
06. 5 Seconds in the Future is a You Made of Pure Thought
07. Hackle Scam Populator
08. Distraction Display
09. Lingual Junk
10. Dance of Oblate Spheroids
11. Instability

• Sculpture:
• Software:

Most Read