Shit and Shine want to mess with your mind “54-Synth-Brass 38 Metal Guitar 65 Cathedral” at a time

Shit and Shine want to mess with your mind "54-Synth-Brass 38 Metal Guitar 65 Cathedral" at a time

Craig Clouse is many things, and one of those things is a man with a dream.

Specifically: a dream to repeatedly offend the boundaries of taste, logic, and definition. The vehicle with which he achieves that dream is his band Shit and Shine, which due to Google now implementing some nanny blocker, I can apparently no longer plug into Google. Instead I need to refer to my “internal Google” (my brain) and recall the early days of Shit and Shine when their modus operandi was to collect as many drummers into a rehearsal space as possible and record the sonic fuck-fest that ensued.

Of course, the metaphoric envelope, once pushed, must be pushed again, and again, and again, and again. Hence we have Shit & Shine classics such as Cunts with Roses, Toilet Door Tits, and Find Out What Happens When People Start Being Polite For A Fucking Change.

So here we are, 10 years into the lifespan of Shit and Shine, and the band has become an ever-evolving line-up of musicians for an ever-evolving sound. Naturally, on the forthcoming 54-Synth-Brass 38 Metal Guitar 65 Cathedral record that Shit and Shine will be unleashing via Rocket Recordings on March 16, we all have to expect the subversively unexpected.

Recent recordings suggest a more electro direction, while the presser promises that the band’s “essence is morphed and feverishly formulated into extraterrestrial aural landscapes.” I personally wouldn’t be surprised if Grouse had found a way to record and speed up the sound of tectonic plates colliding.

Get an indicative squizz at the lead single “Electric Pony 2” here:

The tracklist below also suggests Shit and Shine have finally nailed the most odious and offensive title for a song by naming the closing track of this album the most vomit-inducing two words ever to sit beside one another: “Egg McMuffin.”

54-Synth-Brass 38 Metal Guitar 65 Cathedral tracklist:

01. Electric Pony 2
02. C2-6
03. Cowboy Hat
04. Goat $hit
05. Love Your Hair-Hope You Win!
06. Writing Poetry on Your Forehead
07. Egg McMuffin

• Shit and Shine:
• Rocket Recordings:

Most Read