Sic Alps announce new album for September; it’s called Sic Alps because they’ve already titled too much stuff recently

Sic Alps announce new album for September; it's called Sic Alps because they've already titled too much stuff recently

In less than a year’s time, Sic Alps have released four 7-inches, a live CD-R (download at the second link here), and a Daytrotter session. If you count the 23 separate fragments making up the Vedley 7-inch, there have been 40 tracks pumped out since Napa Asylum (TMT Review), and they’re pretty much uniformly excellent.

So let’s make it a nice round 50 today, shall we? Sic Alps have just announced a new 10-track album for September 11 release through Drag City, with leadoff song “Glyphs” available to stream/download here. Yep, the analog equipment is still well-heated, the guitar solos still busted, and the melodies still snaking/not immediately catchy until you find yourself humming it on BART tomorrow. But changes are afoot as well! “Glyphs” has string arrangements from Joanna Newsom’s own arranger Ryan Francesconi (!). Only one song on the album is less than two minutes (!!). One track is called “Polka Vat” (!!!).

Mikey Kinks Donovan and ______ will be touring as Sic Alps around the September release date with SF pals in productivity Thee Oh Sees, though in my “H.O.” I truly don’t see any other connection between those two bands. Check out an extended live version of “Wake Up, It’s Over” below, which will be getting a sequel on the new record!

Sic Alps tracklisting:

01. Glyphs
02. God Bless Her, I Miss Her
03. Lazee Son
04. Polka Vat
05. Wake Up, It’s Over II
06. Drink Up!
07. Tylacine Man
08. Moviehead
09. Rock Races
10. See You on the Slopes

Dates (all w/ Thee Oh Sees):

09.09.12 - Los Angeles, CA - El Rey Theatre
09.10.12 - San Diego, CA - Bar Pink
10.02.12 - Missoula, MT - VFW
10.03.12 - Calgary, AB - Broken City
10.04.12 - Calgary, AB - Broken City
10.06.12 - Vancouver, BC - Rickshaw Theater

• Sic Alps:
• Drag City:

Most Read