Smashing Pumpkins reissue Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness as expansive 5CD deluxe box, because it was far too succinct before

Smashing Pumpkins reissue Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness as expansive 5CD deluxe box, because it was far too succinct before

Now that it’s officially October, we’re all allowed (encouraged, even) to consume an endless supply of pumpkin-related material. To help you out with that, here’s some news about your favorite band from 7th grade — The Smashing Pumpkins. In line with the reissues already released over the last two years (Gish, Siamese Dream, and Pisces Iscariot), the band has announced that it will release its double-disc opus Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness in a number of new and remastered formats on December 4. These formats (and their corresponding pumpkin rating) are as follows:

• Deluxe Download – Pumpkin Rating: 2
• Double CD – Pumpkin Rating: 3
• Four-LP Vinyl Box Set – Pumpkin Rating: 6
• Five-CD + DVD Box Set – Pumpkin Rating: 9

On a scale of 1 to 10, 1 is where you gag a little when you taste anything pumpkin flavored, and 10 is where you hibernate for 11 months of the year in anticipation of October. For true Pumpkin fans, the balls out five-disc option is really the only way to go. With a velvet-lined box holding 64 bonus tracks of MC&TIS-era material, a decoupage kit for making MC&TIF-themed artwork, and a DVD of a live show from London’s Brixton Acacdemy in 1996, it’ll transport you back to the mid-90s faster than you can say “hypercolor.”

Go find your Zero shirt, enjoy pumpkin-flavored everything while it lasts, and hunker down until the reissue is available later this year.

Bonus disc tracklists:

Morning Tea (Disc 3):

1. Tonight, Tonight (Strings Alone mix)

02. Methusela (Sadlands demo)

03. X.Y.U. (Take 11)

04. Zero (Synth mix)

05. Feelium (Sadlands demo)

06. Autumn Nocturne (Sadlands demo)

07. Beautiful (Loop version)

08. Ugly (Sadlands demo)

09. Ascending Guitars (Sadlands demo)

10. By Starlight (Flood rough)

11. Medellia Of The Gray Skies (Take 1)

12. Lover (Arrangement 1 demo)

13. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Take 7)

14. In The Arms Of Sleep (Early Live demo)

15. Lily (My One And Only) (Sadlands demo)

16. 1979 (Sadlands demo)

17. Glamey Glamey (Sadlands demo)

18. Meladori Magpie

19. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Home Piano version)

20. Galapagos (Instrumental/Sadlands demo)

21. To Forgive (Sadlands demo)

High Tea (Disc 4):

1. Bullet With Butterfly Wings (Sadlands demo)

02. Set The Ray To Jerry (Vocal Rough)

03. Thirty-Three (Sadlands demo)

04. Cupid De Locke (BT 2012 mix)

05. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans (Live Studio rough)

06. Jellybelly (Instrumental/Pit mix 3)

07. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)

08. Jupiter’s Lament (Barbershop version)

09. Bagpipes Drone (Sadlands demo)

10. Tonight, Tonight (Band Version Only, No Strings)

11. Knuckles (Studio outtake)

12. Pennies

13. Here Is No Why (Pumpkinland demo)

14. Blast (Fuzz version)

15. Towers Of Rabble (Live)

16. Rotten Apples

17. Fun Time (Sadlands demo)

18. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Acoustic version)

19. Chinoise (Sadlands demo)

20. Speed

Special Tea (Disc 5):

1. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Nighttime version 1)

02. Galapagos (Sadlands demo)

03. Cherry (BT 2012 mix)

04. Love (Flood rough)

05. New Waver (Sadlands demo)

06. Fuck You (an ode to no one) (Production Master rough)

07. Isolation (BT 2012 mix)

08. Transformer (Early mix)

09. Dizzle (Sadlands demo)

10. Goodnight (Basic Vocal rough)

11. Eye (Soundworks demo)

12. Blank (Sadlands demo)

13. Beautiful (Instrumental-Middle 8)

14. My Blue Heaven (BT 2012 mix)

15. One And Two

16. Zoom (7 ips)

17. Pastichio Medley (Reversed extras)

18. Marquis In Spades (BT 2012 mix)

19. Tales Of A Scorched Earth (Guitar Overdub mix)

20. Tonite Reprise (Version 1)

21. Wishing You Were Real (Home demo)

22. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Pit mix 3)

23. Phang (Sadlands demo)

• Smashing Pumpkins:

Most Read