Tim Hecker teams back up with Kranky for two early reissues, announces live dates, hints at new album this fall

Tim Hecker teams back up with Kranky for two early reissues, announces live dates, hints at new album this fall

It’s a question I often ask myself whenever I’m holding a complete(ish) streaming library of the entire history of recorded music in the palm of my hand and yet still cannot resist cuing-up NOFX’s Punk In Drublic for the eighteen thousandth time since high school: “with so much great OLD music out there in the world, who needs NEW records?!?”

Well, it’s comforting to know that my good friend Tim Hecker has got my back on this. Hell, the lauded experimental/ambient/glitch auteur has got caché out the yin yang, and even HE seems to know that assimilating new music into an artist’s cannon (even a super well-respected one) is, frankly, a pain in the ass.

And so, instead of announcing some shiny, frontier-crossing, boundary-pushing, “NEW” piece of music — and thus forcing the likes of you and me to take a break from all the secret skate-punk we listen to over and over again whenever we’re in headphones — Hecker has announced that he’ll once again be partnering with his old bosses at Kranky Ltd. for vinyl and CD reissues of his 2001 debut Haunt Me, Haunt Me Do It Again and his 2003’s follow-up Radio Amor (which were originally issued by the legendary German experimental imprint Mille Plateaux back in the day).

But because I guess there’s just gotta be SOMETHING “new” afoot to justify these resuscitated records: 1) both albums have been “freshly remastered by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering.” And 2) Kranky says that “Hecker will be releasing a new full-length album with the label in the fall” (don’t panic, we’ll cross that horrible bridge when we come to it).

Other than that, though; it’s the same old comforting same-old. Pre-order both of these wonderfully not-new albums here and check out Tim’s select few 2018 live dates down below the following streams of their nice, safe, familiar sounds. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh. That’s the stuff. <3

Haunt Me, Haunt Me, Do It Again tracklisting:

01. Music For Tundra Pt. 1
02. Music For Tundra Pt. 2
03. Music For Tundra Pt. 3
04. Arctic Lover’s Rock Pt. 1
05. Arctic Lover’s Rock Pt. 2
06. The Work Of Art In The Age Of Cultural Overproduction
07. October Pt. 1 03:35
08. October Pt. 2
09. Ghost Writing Pt. 1
10. Ghost Writing Pt. 2
11. City In Flames (In 3 Parts) Pt. 1
12. City In Flames (In 3 Parts) Pt. 2
13. City In Flames (In 3 Parts) Pt. 3
14. Borderlines Pt. 1
15. Borderlines Pt. 2
16. Boreal Kiss Pt. 1
17. Boreal Kiss Pt. 2
18. Boreal Kiss Pt. 3
19. Night Flight To Your Heart Pt. 1
20. Night Flight To Your Heart Pt. 2

Radio Amor tracklisting:

01. Song Of The Highwire Shrimper
02. (They Call Me) Jimmy
03. Spectral
04. I’m Transmitting Tonight 05:16
05. 7000 Miles
06. Shipyard Of La Ceiba
07. Careless Whispers
08. The Star Compass
09. Azure Azure
10. Trade Winds, White Heat

Hecker 2018 live dates:

05.31.18 - Innsbruck, Australia - Treibhaus
06.01.18 - St. Petersburg, Russia - The Place
06.02.18 - Moscow, Russia - Pluton
06.09.18 - Zurich, Switzerland - Schauspielshaus
08.02.18 - Amsterdam, The Netherlands - Dekmantel

Most Read