Triad God returns with long-awaited second album on Lorenzo Senni’s Presto!? label

Triad God returns with long-awaited second album on Lorenzo Senni's Presto!? label
Photo: Jim Alexander

Save for a peep here, a peep there, and a diamond-cut single with James Ferraro encased in glass, Triad God has been annoyingly quiet over the years. In fact, the last major release by the Vietnam-born, Hong Kong-raised, South London-living artist was his debut, NXB, and it dropped on Hippos in Tanks (RIP) an internet eternity ago (2012). But, at long last, Lorenzo Senni’s Presto!? label has swooped in to release Triad God’s long-awaited follow-up, titled 黑社會 Triad.

Similar to previous material, 黑社會 Triad is produced entirely by Palmistry, who provides a gorgeously sparse, ethereal, almost beat-less work for Triad God to float his spoken word rap meditations, which are delivered mostly in Cantonese. As Presto!? describes it: “His awaited return expands on the unique atmosphere of the project, and its encrypted, solo journey under the surface of reality.”

黑社會 Triad is out today on Presto!?, digitally and on limited-edition vinyl. Birth to life:

黑社會 Triad tracklist:

01. Intro
02. Babe Don’t Go
03. So Pay La
04. Gway Lo
05. Chow Bat Por
06. BDG
07. Dill
08. I Luv U Freestyle
09. Gwan Ye Gong
10. Hay Wan
11. China Town Everyday
12. Chinese New Year

Most Read