Yoko Ono announces new LP Warzone, shares title track

Yoko Ono announces new LP Warzone, shares title track
Photo: Matthew Placek

Okay, you all remember Yoko Ono, right? That one famous fellow’s girlfriend?

Yeah, that lady.

Well, she’s just announced that she’ll be using all that cellular energy from carbing-up on plums and sugary perfume to unleash a brand new full-length album entitled Warzone on October 19 via her son Sean Lennon’s own Chimera Music label.

The album, which we’re assured is “strikingly different from any record she has made previously,” actually revisits and “re-imagines” 13 songs from throughout the span of her career (specifically, the years 1970-2009) through new recordings which are “very stripped down, with a particular emphasis on Yoko’s voice and lyrics.”

As for the album’s title, “Warzone” apparently doesn’t refer to the state of Sean Lennon’s childhood bedroom (which was my first guess), but rather to the state of things in general: “The world is so messed up. Things are very difficult for everybody, says Ono. “It’s a warzone that we are living in…”

And hey, speaking of warzones, you can check out the album track “Warzone” down below and pre-order the entire album here on the standard senior citizen-artist formats LP and CD.

Warzone tracklisting:

01. Warzone
02. Hell In Paradise
03. Now Or Never
04. Where Do We Go From Here
05. Woman Power
06. It’s Gonna Rain
07. Why
08. Children Power
09. I Love All of Me
10. Teddy Bear
11. I’m Alive
12. I Love You Earth
13. Imagine

Most Read